Our team

Lynne Haultain

Executive Director

Lynne leads the Victoria Law Foundation team. She brings with her a wealth of experience in the fields of communications, journalism and management. For 16 years, she worked with ABC Radio, including a stint hosting The Law Report on Radio National. She has also worked at the ACCC, the City of Melbourne, the Victorian Ombudsman and as a consultant. She has degrees in Law and English from the University of Western Australia and holds qualifications from the Australian Institute of Company Directors, the Institute of Community Directors Australia and has attended the Cranlana Centre for Ethical Leadership.

Professor Nigel Balmer

Research Director

As the head of the Foundation’s research team, Nigel oversees our research projects. He has over twenty years’ experience conducting empirical research. His prior work has focused on the role of law in everyday life, public understanding of the law, attitudes to justice, the design of legal services and more. In addition to his role at Victoria Law Foundation, Nigel is also Professor of Law and Social Statistics at University College London.

Georgia Angus

Education and Events Director

Georgia’s career has spanned two decades and multiple industries. Before joining the Foundation, she was the Risk Management Coordinator at the 2006 Melbourne Commonwealth Games, a senior events coordinator for the City of Melbourne and the General Manager for Events at Netball Australia. She has been with the Foundation since 2016, where she heads up our Education program and makes sure Law Week runs smoothly every year.



Cristina Gutierrez, PA to the Executive Director and Office Manager

Cherry Tunnock, Administration Officer


Matthew Hurst, Communications Manager

Jackie Matthews, Communications Coordinator


Prof Nigel Balmer, Research Director

Dr Hugh McDonald, Principal Researcher

Cosima McRae, Senior Researcher

Tenielle Hagland, Research Coordinator

Clare Kennedy, Research Communications

Education and events

Georgia Angus, Education and Events Director

Community and corporate events

Alycia Ashcroft, Events Coordinator

Education schools program

Fabiola Superina, Education Manager

Abraham Luo, Education Events Officer

David Thomson OAM, Teacher-in-Residence


Melanie Rygl, Grants Manager